Latest news

The Edge is searching for gallery staff

Wednesday 14 March 2018

Our exhibition spaces are invigilated by a pool of invigilators on casual basis for an hourly rate. The invigilation team is responsible for offering an informative and welcoming experience for visitors to the exhibitions and ensuring the safety of the artwork.

VASW travel bursary for Build Your Own Art World

Monday 12 March 2018

What does it mean to be artist-led? Is there an alternative to a globalised gallery system? How do you build your own art world? VASW is offering a travel bursary to attend and report back from Build Your Own Art World

Read more news


Visual Arts South West is a network creating opportunities for artists, organisations and professionals to develop their practice, share ideas, knowledge & resources, and cultivate relationships. We provide platforms to promote and support the work of the region's visual arts ecology. 

We are part of the national Contemporary Visual Arts Network (CVAN) which is dedicated to working together to realise a stronger visual arts for the benefit of artists, arts organisations and audiences, present and future.


Featured profile

What's on in the South West

Michael Porter in The Picture Room at Newlyn Art Gallery

Newlyn Art Gallery, New Road, Newlyn, TR18 5PZ

Saturday 20 October 2018 – Saturday 05 January 2019

Postcards From My Neighbourhood

Aspex Gallery, The Vulcan Building, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3BF

Wednesday 07 February 2018 – Sunday 15 April 2018

Ilfracombe Art Trail 2018

Ilfracombe EX34

Saturday 05 May 2018 – Tuesday 07 May 2019

The Endless Village

Aspex Gallery, The Vulcan Building, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3BF

Friday 30 March 2018 – Sunday 10 June 2018

Anthony Benjamin: Currents

The Winchester Gallery, Winchester School of Art, Park Avenue, Winchester, SO23 8DL

Friday 02 February 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018

Vandal/. @St Annes

St Anne's, Paternoster Row, Barnstaple EX31 1SX

Friday 30 March 2018

Regular Art Group

Artwave West, Morcombelake, Dorset DT6 6DY

Thursday 18 January 2018 – Thursday 29 March 2018

The Light That We Seek

The Courtyard Gallery, The Town Mill, Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU

Friday 30 March 2018 – Wednesday 11 April 2018

Visual Arts South West

Working towards a South West where talented artists thrive, and a resilient and connected visual arts ecology that inspires more engaged and diverse audiences to value and advocate for its work.

Part of the Contemporary Visual Arts Network

Supported by: