Latest news

VASW travel bursary for Build Your Own Art World

Monday 12 March 2018

What does it mean to be artist-led? Is there an alternative to a globalised gallery system? How do you build your own art world? VASW is offering a travel bursary to attend and report back from Build Your Own Art World

VASW appoints three new members to its steering group

Monday 19 February 2018

Visual Arts South West is delighted to welcome three new members to its steering group: Zoe Li, Emily Bull and Lara Goodband.

Read more news


Visual Arts South West is a network creating opportunities for artists, organisations and professionals to develop their practice, share ideas, knowledge & resources, and cultivate relationships. We provide platforms to promote and support the work of the region's visual arts ecology. 

We are part of the national Contemporary Visual Arts Network (CVAN) which is dedicated to working together to realise a stronger visual arts for the benefit of artists, arts organisations and audiences, present and future.


Featured profile

What's on in the South West

Legal Tyranny: Conscientious Objection in the Three Towns 1853-1914

Devonport Guildhall, Ker Street

Saturday 05 May 2018 – Saturday 02 June 2018

Radical Clay: Teaching with the greatest potters of the 1960s

Bristol Museum & Art Gallery, Queens Rd, Bristol BS8 1RL

Saturday 22 July 2017 – Sunday 10 June 2018

co|Create â The Art of Creative Journaling

Lonsdale Room, BRLSI, 16-18 Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HN

Tuesday 27 March 2018


The Courtyard Gallery, The Town Mill, Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU

Friday 13 April 2018 – Wednesday 25 April 2018

Ways and Means: the process of image making

The Malthouse Gallery, The Town Mill, Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU

Friday 06 April 2018 – Wednesday 18 April 2018

Creative Printmaking

Artwave West, Morcombelake, Dorset DT6 6DY

Thursday 01 March 2018 – Thursday 22 March 2018

Kickstart your creative book spark & make, make, make

UWE Bristol, Bower Ashton Campus, BS3 2JT

Wednesday 11 July 2018 – Thursday 12 July 2018

Visual Arts South West

Working towards a South West where talented artists thrive, and a resilient and connected visual arts ecology that inspires more engaged and diverse audiences to value and advocate for its work.

Part of the Contemporary Visual Arts Network

Supported by: